Etihad Airways baggage guide
Flights operated and sold by Etihad Airways on one ticket. Baggage only in this guide.
Decision summary
- Economy Basic includes no checked baggage, so two Economy quotes can include different baggage.
- To or from the U.S., Canada, Tunisia or Morocco Etihad uses a piece allowance; elsewhere a total-weight allowance whose amount depends on the fare.
- Economy: one 7 kg cabin bag, 56 x 36 x 23 cm. Business, First and The Residence: two bags up to 12 kg combined (one 12 kg bag to or from the U.S.), plus a smaller 5 kg bag.
Who this guide helps
Travellers comparing Etihad Airways quotes who need to know what baggage a fare includes before adding extras to a comparison.
Verify before purchase: the operating airline on every flight, whether the whole trip is on one ticket, the exact fare name and the baggage allowance printed on the booking.
Cabin and checked baggage
Cabin baggage: Economy one bag up to 7 kg and 56 x 36 x 23 cm. Business, First and The Residence two bags with a combined weight up to 12 kg (one bag up to 12 kg to or from the U.S.), each within 56 x 36 x 23 cm, plus one smaller bag up to 5 kg and 23 x 39 x 19 cm. [1]
Checked baggage to or from the U.S., Canada, Tunisia or Morocco: Economy (not Basic) two bags up to 23 kg each; Business, First and The Residence two bags up to 32 kg each. On all other routes the allowance is a total weight across any number of bags, no single bag over 32 kg; the FAQ does not list the totals. [1]
Economy Basic includes no checked baggage. Bags can be added in Manage your booking. [1]
Open the baggage check preset to Etihad Economy on other routes
Connections and codeshares
Flights operated by partner airlines may have a different allowance. If a trip starts or ends in the U.S., the first airline (or the Most Significant Carrier) sets the baggage rules, per the Etihad FAQ.
Use the preflight checklist to confirm check-in and documents with official sources
Sources, exceptions and review
Official Etihad Airways pages checked on 10 October 2026 (UTC). Reviewed and approved by Editorial Team on 2026-10-12 (UTC).
- Etihad Airways: FAQs about baggage policy before you fly - Etihad Airways
Checked 10 Oct 2026 (UTC) · retrieval: ok · Etihad baggage FAQ, UAE English edition: checked, cabin, extra baggage
Open issues
- Weight-concept totals per fare are not stated on the page retrieved.
- Child and infant allowances are not covered.
- Whether cabin dimensions apply in any orientation is not stated.
Drafted with AI assistance from the official pages listed; reviewed and approved by Editorial Team on 2026-10-12 (UTC).
Official Etihad Airways website. Flyfee has no commercial relationship with Etihad Airways and earns nothing from this link. Current prices and conditions are confirmed there.
Link: the official Etihad Airways page cited in our sources.